RESOURCES: GLOSSARY

OpenX Glossary

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

account: An OpenX object that represents a business unit or business relationship and contains other objects, depending on its type (i.e., ad network, publisher, advertiser, or agency). Users access OpenX to perform tasks for the accounts to which they are assigned.

account relationship: The way accounts relate to one another in OpenX; parent accounts, such as an ad network account, have natural relationships with their child accounts, such as publisher or advertiser accounts.

account type: Indicates the intended purpose of an account, which determines what objects it can contain and influences what users logged in to the account can do in OpenX. For example, advertiser accounts contain orders, publisher accounts contain inventory, and ad networks contain other accounts.

ad agency: In OpenX, an account type that represents a business that provides services to advertisers.

ad code: Called ad tag at OpenX. An ad tag is a small piece of code that defines the ad space where ads display on a website. It includes parameters that describe the inventory advertising campaigns can target, which may in turn display ads in the ad space.

ad delivery mode: Specifies how OpenX selects the ads in a line item for delivery when a line item wins an impression. OpenX can evenly distribute impressions between ads in the line item (equal weighting), distribute impressions between ads in the line item based on each ads’ ad weight setting (manual weighting), or deliver ads together to a predefined ad unit group (companion), according to the selected fill method.

ad network: An OpenX account type, which represents a business that manages other businesses and typically contains and manages both publisher accounts and advertiser accounts.

ad quality: Settings that control the types of ads that can display on your inventory.

ad reporter: A browser plugin that enables you to report problem ads directly from a site.

ad request: Communication between a web browser or application and an ad server to display an ad.

ad server: A complete digital advertising platform where publishers sell, manage, and deliver their advertising inventory across all digital formats.

ad slot: The area on a web page set aside for the display of ads.

ad tag: A small piece of code that defines the ad space where ads display on a website. It includes parameters that describe the inventory advertising campaigns can target, which may in turn display ads in the ad space.

ad unit: In OpenX, the smallest inventory component that represents the space on a site where ads display.

ad unit duration: The run length of time-based inventory, such as linear video.

ad unit group: A collection of ad units where related ads display together at the same time.

ad weight: The percentage of time that an ad should be selected when its line item wins an impression (for line items set to manual weighting).

ad zone: A representation of a location on a website where creatives should be displayed.

advertiser: In OpenX, an account type that represents a business that runs advertising campaigns to display ads on websites.

ATF: Above the fold.  ATF ads are visible on the screen without needing to scroll.  See screen location.

ATL: Above the line ads include any which focus on general media such as TV, cinema, radio, print and the Internet.

audience forecasting: Estimating the volume of impressions during a given time period that match a defined audience segment.

audience segment: A group of users with similar traits or characteristics.

audience segment beacon: A piece of code that you place into your ad space’s source code. It assigns a visitor to a corresponding audience segment, which helps with retargeting.

audience syncing: The ability for a publisher or buyer to push audience segments created in their DMP or DSP to OpenX for the purpose of forecasting, targeting, packaging, and/or reporting.

audience targeting: Targeting of specific audience segments, such as an age demographic.  Audience segments can be defined in OpenX or in an external data management platform (DMP).

audit trail: Logging of any changes to data (creation, modification, or deletion) to allow a system admin user to review all historical changes.

availability: An OpenX forecasting feature that helps ensure your inventory can fulfill delivery goals and meet campaign requirements.

B

banner: This is an ad that appears on a web page which is typically hyperlinked to an advertiser’s website. Banners can be images (GIF, JPEG, PNG), JavaScript programs or multimedia objects (Flash, Java, Shockwave etc.).

beacon: An element on a publisher’s website that is invisible to users while it gathers information. AKA “tracking pixels.”

bid key: A free-form string you associate to a header bidding line item, mapping it to a bid. It consists of a maximum of 20 lowercase characters.

bid request: When OpenX Ad Exchange receives an ad request, its communication to selected real-time bidders, which contains details about the impression and solicits bids for it.

bid response: After evaluating a bid request, a real-time bidder’s communication to OpenX Ad Exchange, indicating if they’re interested in the impression, and if so, how much they’re willing to pay for it.

Bidder: OpenX’s header bidding solution. Bidder enables publishers to realize the true value of their direct and indirect inventory in real time. “Bidder” can also mean a program designed to bid in real time on inventory in the OpenX Ad Exchange.

billable impression: An ad impression for which a publisher or ad network charges the advertiser who owns the ad.

blacklist: Blocking a particular entity’s access to your inventory from the Ad Exchange. A blacklist will allow new entities by default whereas a whitelist will block new entities by default.

blind traffic: Traffic generated by blind links or exit consoles.

bounding box: A rectangular area defined by latitude and longitude lines, which is used in geographic targeting.

BTF: Below the fold.  Below the fold ads are not visible until the user scrolls down to them.  See screen location.

buyer: A company that pays a demand partner to purchase ad inventory on OpenX Ad Exchange.

buying model: The terms under which a specific inventory purchase is made, as well as the priority order in which OpenX considers a line item for selection, including:

1. Guaranteed – exclusive
2. Guaranteed – share of voice
3. Guaranteed – volume goal
4. Non-guaranteed – preferred access
5. Non-guaranteed
6. House

C

cache: This is a temporary storage area that houses frequently accessed data and keeps it ready for speedy access. This saves the computer from having to retrieve the information from main memory every time it’s required. In online terms, a cache can store much of a web page’s content instead of requesting all the data from the server again.

cache busting: The process whereby a random number is added to a banner’s HTML each time the page is reloaded. This results in the server being sent a separate banner request every time and guarantees that the banner is not cached, and therefore that ad impressions remain accurate. AKA “defeating cache.”

campaign:

• An advertising project in its entirety, from conception through creation and buying to tracking and final analysis.
• A collection of related creatives with common advertising purpose and booking requirements.
• A set of criteria for purchasing inventory to achieve advertising goals. See order.

campaign weight: An integer weight value that provides a relative weighting of other campaigns.

CDN: Content delivery network, a distributed system of computers that increases bandwidth for the client by providing copies of creative content (such as media files and metadata) at various points in a network. Creatives are typically hosted on a CDN.

churn rate: The percentage of users that have exited a segment, based on the total number of users in the segment. For example, if 25 users are removed from a 100 user segment, this value would be 25%.

click: A user action, such as clicking an ad with their mouse or touching the screen of a mobile device, which sends them to a click-through URL while OpenX records the event.

click through: The action of clicking an ad and being taken to another web page via a hyperlink.

click-through URL: A destination website address that a viewer goes to when they click on an ad.

clicks: The number of click throughs having occurred as a result of a user clicking on an ad and being redirected to an advertiser’s page.

companion ad units: In an ad unit group, the ad units to serve ads for when the master ad unit wins an impression.

companion line item: A line item that delivers multiple related ads to a predefined ad unit group.

content targeting: A targeting dimension that describes the context and layout that the ad space exists within.

content topic: Describes the main subject of the online content surrounding the ad space, such as sports or automotive.

content type: Describes the main function of the online content surrounding the ad space for targeting capabilities. For example, blog or news.

conversion: The measure of the number of times that a tracker has been displayed that has been successfully linked to a previous creative impression or click, according to the tracker’s rules.

conversion rate: The percentage of visitors to a website who sign up for advertised offers or buy advertised products. Proven high conversion ratios (via web analytics) add value to a website’s inventory.

conversion tag: A small piece of code that tracks how users respond to the ads that serve for the orders they are associated with.

conversion window: The defined amount of time following the view or click of an ad for which a conversion can be attributed.

cookies: Small text files sent from a web server to a browser, then returned by the browser each time it logs on to that server. Advertisers use cookies to monitor the number of ads that have been shown to a visitor, while they are used by websites to gauge numbers of unique visitors.

CPA: Cost per action, a pricing method which calculates cost based on the number of times a user takes action based on an ad (conversions).

CPC: Cost per click, a pricing method which calculates cost based on the number of times a user clicks on an ad.

CPD: Cost per day, a pricing model where advertisers pay on a daily basis for their ads to be displayed on a particular website.

CPL: Cost per lead, a pricing model determined by the number of website visitors who clicked on a particular ad. Prices range, on average, from $1-$10. AKA “pay per lead (PPL)” or “cost per inquiry (CPI).”

CPM: Cost per mille, a pricing method which calculates cost based on the number of impressions (per 1000).

creative: The media asset associated with an ad, such as an image or video file.

creative template: Enables the creation of custom code for non-standard ad formats that can be reused to speed up the process of creating multiple similar ads.

CTR: Click-through rate, the percentage of impressions that results in a click through. For example if a banner was clicked on 87 times after being shown 1000 times, it would have a CTR or click-through rate of .087 or 8.7% (87/1000 = 0.087×100 = 8.7).

CTR Optimized: An ad delivery mode that enables you to serve higher performing (based on click-through-rate) creatives more often.

custom targeting: A targeting dimension that describes custom key-value pairs that a publisher defines based on what they know about their visitors.

D

deal: A unique trading arrangement between a buyer and seller in a confined, programmatic environment.

defaults: Ad networks use this term to describe the ads served to fill unsold inventory space. These usually include lower-paying, non-paying or community service ads. Members of larger ad networks are usually offered a choice of defaults should they fail to sell all of their inventory.

delivery medium: The manner in which an end-user is exposed to ad inventory, such as web or mobile.

demand fusion: Allows OpenX to unite real-time bidding demand and ad network demand to come up with the best price for a publisher.

demand partner: A company which purchases ad inventory on OpenX Ad Exchange.

desktop web: Refers to the use of the Internet via a desktop computer web browser, specifically to differentiate from mobile web or mobile app.

direct sold: Inventory sold directly by the publisher to an advertiser, whereas remnant inventory is sold by a third party.

DSP: Demand-side platform, a platform or provider that allows advertisers to manage multiple ad exchange and data exchange accounts through one interface, often in real time.

E

eCPM: Effective cost per mille tells a publisher what he or she would have received if they sold advertising inventory on a CPM basis.

equal weighting: An ad delivery method for which the Ad Server evenly distributes impressions between ads in the line item.  See ad delivery mode.

external identifier: A free-form reference ID. For example, “Debbie’s Account.”

F

fixed bid: A type of line item which allows a fixed bid partner to set a static CPM rate for inclusion in auctions that meet the specific targeting criteria selected in the line item.

flight dates: An interval that specifies the maximum life span of a line item. If its impression goal is met before the end of the flight, the line item becomes unavailable. Flight dates must fall within order dates.

floor: The minimum price a publisher is willing to accept for a given impression.

forecasted clicks: The number of clicks that have been booked to deliver for a campaign.

forecasted conversions: The number of conversions that have been booked to deliver for a campaign.

forecasted impressions: The number of impressions that have been booked to deliver for a campaign.

frequency capping: Using cookies to track the impression count of ads served and stop any given ad being shown to a single visitor more than the set number of times.

G

geographic targeting: A targeting dimension that describes a viewer’s physical location, such as their city or state.

guaranteed line item: A purchase that reserves inventory.

H

header bidding: A monetization tool that exposes each impression to programmatic demand before calling the ad server. This lets publishers realize the true value of their direct and indirect inventory in real time.

house ads: Ads that promote the host website’s features and services. They are a way to fill unsold inventory.

I

impressionA single display of an ad on a web page, mobile app, or other delivery medium. See also billable impression, forecasted impressions.

impression cap: An integer that represents the maximum number of impressions for a line item within its flight dates.

impression goal: The maximum number of impressions to deliver for a line item in a single day (per day) or over the duration of the line item’s flight (total). When a line item reaches a daily impression goal, it is temporarily ineligible for ad selection. For example, if you set the daily impression goal to 5 and the line item reaches 5 impressions in a single day (e.g., on day 5 of a 20 day flight), then the line item is not available for ad serving for the rest of the day. However, the line item becomes eligible again for ad serving on day 6. When a line item reaches its total impression goal, no matter which day of the flight, it is no longer available for ad serving.

instance: The platform on which the publisher’s or buyer’s product is hosted.

in-stream: An ad that appears within video content. For example, a pre-roll ad attached to a YouTube video.

interstitial: A full-screen ad displayed in content transitions. For example, a video ad that loads between levels of a mobile game.

inventory: Ad space available on a website or app. The basic unit of inventory for OpenX is an ad unit.

L

line item: The primary unit of execution for an OpenX order, which represents a specific inventory purchase and the required conditions for ad delivery.

linear video: An ad unit type that consists of video ads that play in sequence with video content in a video player. For example, this could be pre-, mid-, or post-roll.

M

macro: For OpenX, a command enclosed in curly braces {} that dynamically inserts attributes into your HTML or third-party ad creatives and click-through URLs when OpenX serves an ad. Other macros, like from your video player, may have alternate formatting.

managing account: The account relationship established between a container account (parent) and its sub-accounts (children), which provides the parent account full read and write access its managed accounts.

manual weighting: An ad delivery method for which the ad server distributes impressions between ads in a line item based on the Ad Weight setting for each of the ads in the line item.

master ad unit: The ad unit that anchors ad delivery for an ad unit group when a companion line item wins the impression for the master ad unit. The remaining ad units are filled with ads from the companion line item, as appropriate, based on the line item’s Companion Delivery Mode.  See ad delivery mode.

mid-roll: In-stream video ads that play in the middle of video content.

MIME type: Video creative formats supported by your video player. For example, video/mp4.

mobile: Synonymous with mobile app. Refers to the use of an app via a mobile device, specifically to differentiate from mobile web.

mobile app: Synonymous with mobile. Refers to the use of an app via a mobile device, specifically to differentiate from mobile web.

mobile web: Refers to the use of the Internet via a mobile device web browser, specifically to differentiate from mobile app.

MRAID: Mobile Rich Ad Interface Definitions, a type of API framework for interfacing between an ad creative and native mobile capabilities.

N

native ad: An advertisement designed to blend in with the appearance and tone of the editorial content it runs alongside.

non-guaranteed line item: Fourth priority buying model, which does not reserve inventory.  AKA “remnant line item.”

non-linear video: An ad unit type that consists of video ads that play during video content in a video player.

non-smooth pacing: A pacing configuration that delivers 95 percent of the goal impressions by the halfway mark for the line item’s date range.

O

OpenX Market Rule: Enables OpenX Ad Server, Bidder, and SSP customers to specify what inventory is eligible for RTB buyers to purchase. Publishers can use this tool to set specific criteria for selling their inventory, such as: inventory targeting, floor price, and ad quality filters.

opt in: The process by which a user agrees to receiving messages from a company. Opt in messages, therefore, cannot be considered as spam.

opt out: The process by which a user elects to stop receiving messages from a company. If a user continues to receive messages after opting out these messages can be considered to be spam.

order: The top-level demand-side component in OpenX which represents the summary for an advertiser’s inventory purchase to run a marketing campaign. See the Orders section of the OpenX product documentation for more information.

ORMMA: Open Rich Mobile Media Advertising, a type of API framework for video ad serving.

OSI: 

On Schedule Indicator, a metric that indicates the percentage of delivered impressions for a line item relative to the impression goal and the time elapsed in a campaign.

 

It is defined by the following calculation:
OSI = impressions-to-date/((impression_goal/(end_date – start_date + 1)) * flight_time-to-date)

out-stream: A standalone video ad that is not within video content. It can present anywhere, for example, a video ad in your Facebook news feed.

P

pacing model: Indicates how OpenX distributes impressions for a guaranteed – volume goal line item during its flight, either smooth or non-smooth. With smooth pacing, OpenX Ad Server evenly distributes impressions. With non-smooth pacing, the ad server distributes impressions based on the configuration, which by default, delivers 95 percent of the impressions by the midpoint of the line item’s flight.

package: A bundle of targeting criteria for similar inventory segments which you can offer at a predetermined price (typically to facilitate regular sales efforts) and automatically create line items from in OpenX.

page placement: Where the ad is on the page, such as above the fold (ATF) or below the fold (BTF).  This is also referred to as “screen location” or “page position.”

page position: The location of an ad on a page, such as above the fold (ATF) or below the fold (BTF). This is also referred to as “screen location” or “page placement.”

pageview: What is displayed each time a browser requests a web page. One pageview might register as multiple hits on the server because pages can contain more than one element, such as several banners. Since pageviews do not account for browsers that are set to disable images, they are an unreliable way of gauging the success of a campaign.

piggyback beacon: A named code snippet returned to the browser when a user triggers another beacon it is associated with.

pixel: A contraction of picture element, a pixel refers to a single point in a graphic. Ad units are typically measured in pixels, for example the default 468×60-sized banner.

PMP: Private marketplace, the packaging, offering, and selling of high quality inventory to a limited set of buyers.

post-roll: In-stream video ads that play at the end of video content.

pre-roll: In-stream video ads that play before video content.

pricing control: A tool for the creation and management of floors.

pricing model: The method for assigning a value to a line item, such as cost per mille (CPM) or cost per click (CPC).

priority: Indicates which deal or line item should take precedence in the case that multiple deals or line items are eligible to serve for a given ad request.

private marketplace: The packaging, offering, and selling of high quality inventory to a limited set of buyers. Abbreviated as PMP.

publisher: In OpenX, an account type that represents a business with ad space to sell.

R

rate card: Publishers compile rate cards to list prices for advertising on their sites. Larger sites usually give rates on a CPM basis. Technical details regarding banner size and positioning may also be included.

real-time selling rule: Called “OpenX Market Rule” for OpenX products. Enables OpenX Ad Server, Bidder, and SSP customers to specify what inventory is eligible for RTB buyers to purchase. Publishers can use this tool to set specific criteria for selling their inventory, such as: inventory targeting, floor price, and ad quality filters.

referring page: The web page a visitor was viewing before clicking on a hyperlink and arriving at the current page.

report snapshot: Displays the status of past report data.

request: The number of times a creative has been requested to be displayed on a website (compare with impression).  When a browser attempts to retrieve a page, or any of the elements within a page, from an internet server, it is said to be making a request.

revenue model: The revenue relationship or deal type established between an ad network and the publishers that they directly manage.

revenue sharing: An OpenX Ad Server feature that allows ad networks to manage and track revenue splits with the publishers they manage.

rich media: Ad technology that features more refined images as well as audio and video in the ad. Rich media ads frequently allow visitors to interact with a banner without leaving the page on which it appears (e.g., movie ads that expand and play a trailer on the host page).

role: A grouping of user permissions, which, when assigned to a user, defines the tasks that they can perform on behalf of their accounts.

ROI: Radio on Internet.

RON: Run of network, an implementation style of ads that appear anywhere on any page of any site that is part of a specific ad network.

RON tag: An implementation choice via a single tag that enables delivery across multiple publisher sites and requires dynamic population of parameters.

ROS: Run of site, ads that will appear anywhere on a website.

rotation: A way in which creatives are served on a page. The creative will change when the page is refreshed, rather than stay static. Some advertisers may request that their ad not be rotated.

RTB: Real-time bidding, auctioning online inventory within an ad exchange. Buyers bid for the impression based on the value of the user, whereas the seller sets pricing floors and awards the impression to the highest bidder. The auction process takes place in milliseconds, which is why the process is referred to as “real-time.”

RTG: Real-time guaranteed, a programmatic direct deal type that allows a buyer and a publisher to commit to a flexible guarantee for the purchase of inventory and a buyer-defined audience.

S

screen location: Where the ad is on the page, such as above the fold (ATF) or below the fold (BTF).  This is also referred to as “page position” or “page placement.”

screen type (delivery media) targeting: Targeting based on where the ad would be delivered, such as Web, video, mobile, or email.

selling rule: Called “OpenX Market Rule” for OpenX products. Enables OpenX Ad Server, Bidder, and SSP customers to specify what inventory is eligible for RTB buyers to purchase. Publishers can use this tool to set specific criteria for selling their inventory, such as: inventory targeting, floor price, and ad quality filters.

session cap: An integer that specifies the total number of times during a session that a viewer can be exposed to a combination of ads for a particular line item.

site: An OpenX component that represents top-level domains or sub-domains and is used to organize ad units. Sites enable you to target and report on inventory performance.

site section: A way of classifying inventory, for example into vertical segments of content.

smooth pacing: A pacing configuration wherein OpenX Ad Server attempts to evenly distribute the delivery of impressions over the specified time period.

sponsorship: A way for an advertiser to sponsor a section of a website. As a sales technique, sponsorship works best when the web page is relevant to the advertiser’s products or services.

SSP: Supply-side platform, a platform or provider that allows publishers to manage and optimize revenue for their inventory from multiple sources, often in real time.

sticky: A descriptive term for websites where users typically stay longer than normal. For example, gambling sites are often considered sticky.

T

targeting criteria: The rules that define how a creative should be targeted for delivery to viewers.  There are several types of targeting criteria: audience targeting, custom targeting, geographic targeting, inventory and content targeting, screen type (delivery media) targeting, and technology and devices targeting

technographic targeting: A targeting dimension that describes the technologies a user employs in their computing environment, such as their computer’s operating system.  Also referred to as “technology and devices targeting.”

U

unique users: A site’s total number of users or visitors over a certain length of time. Accuracy depends on each user logging in with a unique cookie to access the site, such as a different browser.

unique visitors: A site’s total number of users or visitors over a certain length of time. Accuracy depends on each user logging in with a unique cookie to access the site, such as a different browser.

user lifetime cap: An integer that specifies the total number of times that a user can be exposed to a combination of ads for a particular line item during the lifetime of the flight.

user role: A grouping of user capabilities that describe the tasks a user can perform in OpenX.

V

VAST: Video Ad Serving Template, as defined by the IAB to structure a video ad response.

VAST ad tag: Synonymous with VAST URL. An HTTP-based URL that enables communication between video players and ad servers. Publishers configure these tags in order to serve video ads on their sites.

VAST URL: Synonymous with VAST ad tag. An HTTP-based URL that enables communication between video players and ad servers. Publishers configure these tags in order to serve video ads on their sites.

VAST XML: A structured video ad response comprised of XML.

video companion: An ad that serves in conjunction with a video ad and is located outside of the video player.

volume goal: A setting for guaranteed line items.  A volume goal for impressions is used to reach a set number of impressions as soon as possible, depending on the Priority setting for the line item.

VPAID: Video Player Ad-Serving Interface Definition, a type of API framework for interfacing between a video ad creative and a video player.

W

web: Refers to the use of the Internet, either via a mobile web or desktop web browser.

whitelist: Marking a particular entity as “approved” in order to ensure it is included. A whitelist will block new entities by default whereas a blacklist will allow new entities by default. For example, you could use a whitelist to only allow the “Technology” industry.

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